2017 Indie Book of the Year Awards

It’s that time of the year when Australian independent booksellers have voted for their favourite books of last year and the shortlist has been released.

The twenty shortlisted books will be vying for the top spot as the Indie ‘Book of the Year’ for 2017. Panels of expert judges (all indie booksellers and avid readers) will choose the winners in the five book categories – Fiction, Debut Fiction, Non-Fiction, Children’s and Young Adult. Independent booksellers from around the country will then vote to select their favourite book for the year.

This year’s shortlisted titles are:

The Good People by Hannah Kent
Truly Madly Guilty by Liane Moriarty
Where the Trees Were by Inga Simpson
The Last Painting of Sara de Vos by Dominic Smith


The Birdman’s Wife by Melissa Ashley
The Midnight Watch by David Dyer
The Dry by Jane Harper
Goodwood by Holly Throsby


The Hate Race by Maxine Beneba Clarke
Ghost Empire by Richard Fidler
Fight Like a Girl by Clementine Ford
Everywhere I Look by Helen Garner


Circle by Jeannie Baker
Pig the Winner by Aaron Blabey
The 78-Storey Treehouse by Andy Griffiths & Terry Denton (Illus)
Wormwood Mire by Judith Rossell


Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley

Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff
The Road to Winter by Mark Smith

Our Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherland

The category winners and the overall ‘Book of the Year’ winner will be announced on Monday, 20th March, 2017